A Brief History of 42V

In 1994, at the initiative of Daimler-Benz, the first "Workshop on Advanced Architectures for Automotive Electrical Distribution Systems" was held at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems (MIT/LEES) in Cambridge with the aim of defining the architecture for a future automotive electrical system. From the outset, the participants in this workshop included suppliers as well as the automobile companies Daimler-Benz, Ford and General Motors.

In September 1995, various electrical systems architectures were compared at MIT using the tool "MAESTrO", and in December 1995, in the "Conclusions" of this study, a future voltage level of approx. 40V was defined.

In early 1996, the "Consortium on Advanced Automotive Electrical and Electronic Systems" was set up. At the ensuing workshop in March 1996, the future nominal voltage of 42V was laid down.

In August 1996, IEEE Spectrum published the paper "Automotive electrical systems circa 2005".

On the occasion of the October 1996 Convergence in Detroit, Professor John G. Kassakian (MIT) gave a talk entitled "The Future of Automotive Electrical Systems" as part of the "IEEE Workshop on Automotive Power- Electronics".

On March 24th, 1997, Daimler-Benz presented the "Draft Specification of a Dual Voltage Vehicle Electrical Power System 42V/14V" to the MIT.

USA

MIT

MIT

Ford

General Motors

Mercedes

At the same time as the activities in the USA, in 1994, again at the initiative of Daimler-Benz, the former SICAN GmbH held its first "Forum Bordnetz" (Vehicle Electrical System Forum) in Hanover for German automobile companies. Here too, suppliers were invited to participate at a very early stage, together with all European vehicle manufacturers.

On February 15th,1996, the introductory paper "Bordnetzarchitektur im Jahr 2005" (Automotive electrical system architecture for the year 2005) was agreed, and on June 4th, 1996, BMW presented the "Tabelle heutiger und zukünftiger Verbraucher im Kfz" (Table of present and future loads in the motor vehicle) and the "42V/14V-Bordnetz" (42V/14V PowerNet).

On September 13th, 1996, at the 7th International Technical Meeting for Vehicle Electronics in Baden-Baden, considerable interest was raised by the paper "Neue Bordnetz- Architektur und Konsequenzen" (New Automotive Electrical System Architecture and Consequences), presented by Dr. Richard D. Tabors (MIT).

On March 6th, 1997, BMW presented the "Spezifikationsentwurf für das Zwei-Spannungsbordnetz 42V/14V" (Draft Specification of a Dual Voltage Vehicle Electrical Power System 42V/14V) in Hanover.

The work at SICAN GmbH was given decisive impetus by the cooperation between BMW and Daimler-Benz, as witnessed in their joint definition of the European "Load List 2005" and the jointly authored "Draft Specification of a Dual Voltage Vehicle Electrical Power System 42V/14V".

Europa

Forum Bordnetz

AUDI

BMW

Mercedes

Porsche

VW

After extensive preparatory work, resulting in the "List of Loads in the Automobile of the Year 2005", various automotive electrical system architectures were compared using the tool "MAESTrO" (12V, 12V/24Vdc, 12V/48Vdc and 12V/60Vac) in the September 1995 workshop at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT/LEES). The finding of this study was that the highest possible direct voltage was the best alternative.

The limiting factor for direct voltages is a shock-hazard protection limit of 60V, which must not be exceeded even during voltage fluctuations caused by extreme conditions. This limit eliminates the option of an automotive electrical system with a nominal battery voltage of 48V, because at low temperatures the charging voltage of the battery can attain 60V. Also, the price, weight and volume of batteries are influenced by the number of cells, which must therefore be kept to a minimum.

New battery technologies for automotive applications would not have been available at affordable costs for the 42V/14V PowerNet. They require a special recharging system and are therefore not operable "rigid" to the vehicle electrical system, as is advantageous for covering power peaks. Lead-acid batteries are low-priced and have a very "compliant" charging/discharging characteristic. Therefore, lead-acid batteries would have been used optimised for energy and service life at the lower voltage and optimised for power at the higher voltage.

Another important criterion for a new architecture was that it should offer extensive migration possibilities, i.e. the loads should if necessary be converted to the higher voltage only gradually as a function of actual requirements.

For the sake of clarity, it is necessary to understand that the present 12V automotive electrical system has an alternator/regulator voltage of 14V, and that 14V is therefore the dominant voltage. Consequently, in the future automotive electrical system the name of this branch has been corrected to 14V.

Depending on operating conditions, the vehicle electrical system voltage today can vary between 6.5 and 16V, with a varying degree of ripple superimposed on this value. In the 42V/14V PowerNet the 14V branch should have been freed of higher-power loads and should therefore be confinable within much narrower limits.

Power electronics is becoming increasingly important in the automotive sphere and will be a decisive factor in the price of future vehicles. This criterion was therefore especially important when selecting the most suitable higher voltage level. Despite the considerable upward trend of power electronics in automotive applications, its share of the market will decline, because growth rates in other market segments are even higher. For that reason alone, a specific manufacturing technology for automotive use is inconceivable.

Choice of voltage

In intensive discussions with the major semiconductor manufacturers, a voltage of approx. 40V was found to be advantageous. Many arguments are summarised in the paper "Intelligent Power Semiconductors for Future Automotive Electrical Systems" presented by the former Siemens Semiconductors now Infineon at the 17th "Elektronik im Kraftfahrzeug" (In-Car Electronics) conference on June 3rd/4th, 1997.

Other arguments for a higher voltage included the reduction of weight in the wiring system and the improved stability of the automotive electrical system, including by means of reduced voltage drops. With three times the voltage, thick conductors can be reduced to a third of the cross-section, and at the same time the relative voltage drop can also be reduced to a third. For the same cross-section, the relative voltage drop is now no more than one ninth.

The voltage level resulting from these comprehensive arguments was so close to three times the present voltage that 42V became the automatic choice for the second voltage level.

SGS-Thomson

Siemens

As one of the "fathers" of 42V I vehemently advocated the naming of 42V/14V for the new PowerNet unlike 36V/12V. After I was interviewed by Paul Hansen, the editor of the Hansen-Report, my explanation was placed on the front page of the Hansen-Report in April 1998:

Dieter Blauensteiner of Daimler-Benz's research operation explained that the present voltage is not really 12 volts: "The nominal voltage in today's vehicle is around 14 volts [voltage while your engine is running] - that's also the nominal voltage of the alternator, and 14 times three is 42."

Regarding the hight of the voltage it was hawked, that 42V would have been the Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything.

Others joked because the 1st International Congress on 42V PowerNet held in the Congress Center Villach/Austria on September 28-29, 1999 used the phone number 04242 42000, fax 04242 42000-42.

The Ultimative Question

Originally the implementation of the Dual Voltage 42V/14V PowerNet was planned for 2005. It was obvious that the new development of 42V components would cause adequate costs. The suppliers heavily under pricing pressure by the automobile companies for the 14V components hoped for improvement of their margin at 42V. Finally no automobile company wanted to bear the numbered additional costs for the change. The activities concerning 42V are meanwhile suspended.

Present State

Eine kleine Historie von 42V

Am Massachusetts Institute of Technology Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems (MIT/LEES) in Cambridge traf sich 1994 auf Initiative von Daimler-Benz der erste "Workshop on Advanced Architectures for Automotive Electrical Distribution Systems" mit dem Ziel, die Architektur für ein künftiges automobiles Bordnetz zu erarbeiten. Teilnehmer dieses Workshops waren neben den Automobilfirmen Daimler-Benz, Ford und General Motors von Anfang an auch Zulieferfirmen.

Im September 1995 wurden am MIT verschiedene Bordnetz-Architekturen mit dem Tool "MAESTrO" verglichen und im Dezember 1995 in den "Conclusions" als künftiges Spannungsniveau erstmals ein Wert von ca. 40V fixiert.

Anfang 1996 wurde das "Consortium on Advanced Automotive Electrical and Electronic Systems" ins Leben gerufen. Auf dem anschließenden Workshop im März 1996 wurde die künftige Nennspannung mit 42V definiert.

Im IEEE Spectrum erschien im August 1996 der Beitrag "Automotive electrical systems circa 2005".

Im Anschluss an die Convergence Oktober 1996 hielt in Detroit Professor John G. Kassakian (MIT) im Rahmen des "IEEE Workshop on Automotive Power- Electronics" den Vortrag "The Future of Automotive Electrical Systems".

Am 24.03.1997 wurde von Daimler-Benz am MIT die "Draft Specification of a Dual Voltage Vehicle Electrical Power System 42V/14V" vorgestellt.

USA

MIT

MIT

Ford

General Motors

Mercedes

Parallel zu den Aktivitäten in den USA wurde 1994 ebenfalls auf Initiative von Daimler-Benz bei der damaligen SICAN GmbH in Hannover das "Forum Bordnetz" der Automobilunternehmen in Deutschland ins Leben gerufen. Auch dort wurden sehr bald die Zulieferer in die Diskussion mit einbezogen, sowie alle europäischen Automobilfirmen zur Teilnahme eingeladen.

Am 15.02.1996 wurde am Forum Bordnetz das Positionspapier "Bordnetzarchitektur im Jahr 2005" beschlossen und am 04.06.1996 von BMW die "Tabelle heutiger und zukünftiger Verbraucher im Kfz" und das "42V/14V-Bordnetz" vorgestellt.

Große Beachtung fand auf der 7. Internationalen Fachtagung für Elektronik im Kraftfahrzeug in Baden-Baden am 13.09.1996 der Vortrag "Neue Bordnetz- Architektur und Konsequenzen", gehalten von Dr. Richard D. Tabors (MIT).

Am 06.03.1997 wurde in Hannover von BMW der "Spezifikationsentwurf für das Zwei-Spannungsbordnetz 42V/14V" vorgestellt.

Entscheidende Impulse für die Arbeit bei der SICAN GmbH kamen aus der Zusammenarbeit von BMW und Daimler-Benz durch die gemeinsame Erstellung der europäischen "Verbraucherliste 2005" und dem gemeinsam erarbeiteten "Spezifikationsentwurf für das Zwei-Spannungsbordnetz 42V/14V".

Europa

Forum Bordnetz

AUDI

BMW

Mercedes

Porsche

VW

Nach umfangreichen Vorarbeiten, deren Ergebnis die "Verbraucher-Liste eines Fahrzeuges 2005" war, wurden am Massachusetts Institute of Technology Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems (MIT/LEES) im Workshop September 1995 verschiedene Bordnetz- Architekturen mit dem Tool "MAESTrO" verglichen (12V, 12V/24Vdc, 12V/48Vdc und 12V/60Vac). Dabei zeigte sich eine möglichst hohe Gleichspannung als günstigste Alternative.

Einschränkend besteht für Gleichspannungen eine Berührungsschutzgrenze von 60V, die auch bei Spannungsschwankungen durch extreme Bedingungen nicht überschritten werden darf. Damit schied ein Bordnetz mit einer Batterie-Nennspannung von 48V aus, weil dann bei niedrigen Temperaturen die Ladespannung der Batterie die Höhe von 60V erreichen kann. Für Batterien ist zudem die Zellenzahl von Einfluss auf Preis, Gewicht und Volumen und sollte deshalb möglichst niedrig gehalten werden.

Zur Einführung des 42V/14V-Bordnetzes hätten neue Batterietechnologien für Automotive-Anwendungen nicht zu vertretbaren Kosten zur Verfügung gestanden. Diese erfordern außerdem besondere Laderegime und können folglich nicht "starr" am Bordnetz betrieben werden, was bei der Deckung von Leistungsspitzen von Vorteil ist. Blei-Säure-Batterien sind kostengünstig und zeigen im Laden/Entladen ein sehr "gutmütiges" Verhalten. Es wären also Blei-Säure-Batterien auf der niedrigen Spannung energieoptimiert bzw. lebensdaueroptimiert und auf der höheren Spannung leistungsoptimiert eingesetzt worden.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Kriterium für eine neue Architektur war, dass sie weitgehende Migrationsmöglichkeit bietet, also die Verbraucher ggf. erst nach und nach entsprechend den Erfordernissen auf die höhere Spannung umgehängt werden können.

Zum Verständnis ist es nötig, sich klar zu machen, dass das heutige 12V-Bordnetz eine Generator-Regelspannung von ca. 14V hat und dies damit die vorherrschende Spannung ist. Entsprechend wurde die Benennung dieses Zweiges im künftigen Bordnetz auf 14V korrigiert.

In Abhängigkeit der Betriebszustände kann die Bordnetzspannung heute zwischen 6,5 und 16V schwanken, wobei dem noch eine mehr oder weniger große Welligkeit überlagert ist. Im 42V/14V-Bordnetz sollte der 14V-Zweig von Verbrauchern hoher Leistung befreit sein und deshalb in wesentlich engeren Grenzen gehalten werden können.

Die Leistungselektronik gewinnt im automobilen Bereich zunehmende Bedeutung und wird ein entscheidender Preisfaktor in künftigen Fahrzeugen sein. So war es wichtig, vor allem auch unter diesem Aspekt die geeignete höhere Spannungslage zu wählen. Trotz der stark steigenden Tendenz der Leistungselektronik in Automotive-Anwendungen wird deren Marktanteil sinken, da die Zuwächse in anderen Marktsegmenten noch höher sind. Schon deshalb ist eine besondere Fertigungs-Technologie für den automobilen Einsatz nicht denkbar.

Wahl der Spannung

In intensiven Gesprächen mit den großen Halbleiterherstellern zeigte sich eine Spannung von ca. 40V als vorteilhaft. Viele Argumente sind im Vortrag "Intelligente Leistungshalbleiter für zukünftige Kfz-Bordnetze" von der damaligen Siemens Halbleiter jetzt Infineon von der 17. Tagung "Elektronik im Kraftfahrzeug" am 3./4. Juni 1997 zusammengefasst.

Weitere Argumente für eine höhere Spannung waren die Reduzierung von Gewicht in der Verkabelung und die Verbesserung der Bordnetzstabilität auch durch Reduzierung der Spannungsabfälle. Mit einer dreifachen Spannung können dicke Leiter auf ein Drittel des Querschnittes reduziert werden und gleichzeitig der relative Spannungsabfall ebenfalls auf ein Drittel. Bei gleichem Querschnitt beträgt der relative Spannungsabfall nur noch ein Neuntel.

Die aus der Fülle von Argumenten resultierende Spannungslage war so nahe am Dreifachen der heutigen Spannung, dass es sich regelrecht aufdrängte, 42V für die zweite Spannungsebene zu wählen.

SGS-Thomson

Siemens

Als einer der "Väter" von 42V verfocht ich für das neue Bordnetz vehement die Benennung 42V/14V und eben nicht 36V/12V. Nachdem ich von Paul Hansen, dem Herausgeber des Hansen-Report interviewt wurde, kam meine Erklärung auf die Titelseite des Hansen-Report vom April 1998:

Dieter Blauensteiner of Daimler-Benz's research operation explained that the present voltage is not really 12 volts: "The nominal voltage in today's vehicle is around 14 volts [voltage while your engine is running] - that's also the nominal voltage of the alternator, and 14 times three is 42."

Kolportiert ist zur Frage nach der Höhe der Spannung, dass 42V die Antwort auf die "ultimative Frage des Lebens, des Universums und dem ganzen Rest" gewesen wäre.

Andere scherzten, weil der "1st International Congress on 42V PowerNet" gehalten im Congress Center Villach/Österreich 28.-29. September 1999 die Telefonnummer 04242 42000, Fax 04242 42000-42 hatte.

Die ultimative Frage

Ursprünglich war die Einführung des Zwei-Spannungsbordnetzes 42V/14V für ca. 2005 geplant. Es war klar, dass die Neuentwicklung von 42V-Komponenten entsprechende Kosten verursachen würde. Die von den Automobilherstellern bei 14V-Komponenten stark unter Preisdruck stehenden Zulieferer hofften bei 42V auf eine Verbesserung ihrer Marge. Letztlich wollte kein Automobilhersteller die bezifferten Mehrkosten für eine Umstellung in Kauf nehmen. Die Aktivitäten betreffend 42V sind mittlerweile eingestellt.

Derzeitiger Stand